Griffin Museum Staff

Paula Tognarelli
Paula Tognarelli
Executive Director

Paula Tognarelli is the Executive Director and Curator of the Griffin Museum of Photography. The Griffin Museum of Photography located in Winchester outside Boston, Massachusetts, is a small nonprofit photography museum whose mission is to promote an appreciation of photographic art and a broader understanding of its visual, emotional and social impact. The museum houses 3 galleries and maintains 4 satellite gallery spaces and several virtual on-line galleries as well.

Ms. Tognarelli is responsible for producing over 60 exhibitions a year at the Griffin and its surrounding satellite spaces. She holds an M.S. in Arts Administration from Boston University, BA from Regis College, is a graduate of the New England School of Photography and is a current candidate for her Masters in Education at Lesley University. She has juried and curated exhibitions internationally including American Photo's Image of the Year, Photoville's Fence, Flash Forward Festival, Deland Arts Festival, Center for Fine Art Photography, PDN's Photo Annual, PDN's Curator Awards, the Kontinent Awards, the Filter Festival in Chicago, San Francisco International Photography Exhibition , Your Daily Photograph for Duncan Miller Gallery, Peter Miller Fine Art Gallery, Yankee Magazine, Vermont Center for Photography and the Lishui International Photography Festival in Lishui, China. She is a regular participant in national and local portfolio reviews, has been a panelist and featured speaker at photography events and conferences including MacWorld. She has been a panelist for the Massachusetts Cultural Council's Photography Fellowships and is a nominator for the Prix Pictet in Geneva, Switzerland, a nominator for the Heinz Prize in Pennsylvania, the Robert Gardner Fellowship at Harvard University, St. Botolph Club Foundation, MOPA Triennial, and the Rappaport Prize in Massachusetts. She is a past member of the Xerox Technical Advisory Board. She is on the advisory board of the New England School of Photography and the Flash Forward Festival Boston.

Paula Tognarelli's Mix Tape at Lenscratch

Meg Birnbaum
Director of Communications

Meg Birnbaum is a fine art photographer, designer and educator. She has had solo exhibitions in Kobe, Japan, the Davis Orton Gallery, NY, Panopticon Gallery, Boston, Corden Potts Gallery, San Francisco, the Griffin Museum of Photography, Lishui China, International Photography Festival, and at the Museum of Art Pompeo Boggio, Buenos Aires during the biennial Encuentros Abiertos-Festival de la Luz. Her work has been juried into many national and international photography competitions. Birnbaum was an invited exhibitor at Flash Forward Festival 2011 in Boston and was nominated for the 2009 Santa Fe Prize for Photography.

Meg is also a graphic designer specializing in publication design. She produces all design collateral for the museum and produces the exhibition catalogs associated with the museum's exhibitions. She is a member of the Griffin Museum's exhibition committee.

Birnbaum taught illustration at Montserrat College of Art and is teacher of the Photography Atelier and Atelier 2.0 classes at the Griffin Museum of Photography. Her work is held in the permanent collection of the Meditech Corporation, the Museum of Fine Art, Houston, the Lishui Museum of Photography in China and many private collections.

Alison Nordström PhD
Consulting Curator of International Programs

Alison Nordstrom was founding Director/Senior Curator of the Southeast Museum of Photography in Florida and, until last year, Senior Curator of Photographs and Director of Exhibitions at George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film. She has curated exhibitions in Canada, England, Japan, The Netherlands, Spain, France, Finland, Switzerland, Australia and Samoa as well as many American institutions including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Phillips Collection, The Photographic Resource Center and the Boston Public Library. In 2011, the Griffin Museum awarded her the Focus Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Martha Stone
Martha Stone
Gallery Monitor

Martha has studied at Clark University, Montserrat College of Art, Accademia Internazionale Estiva delle Belle Arti in Italy, as well as with Boston artists Lorraine Donati and Charles Mahoney. Stone is a fine art painter who has worked in graphics most of her career in quality control and archiving. At the Griffin Museum, Martha is responsible for weekend operation, gift shop display and strategic marketing as well as membership renewal and solicitation. Among many exhibitions in the Boston area, Martha's work is featured in a permanent collection at Delloitte and Touche in Boston and in private collections throughout the United States and Europe. Recent shows in the Boston area include Galatea Fine Art, Giardini di Sole, and Brickbottom Open Studios. Her work has also been featured at the Edgewater Gallery in Middlebury, Vermont and Museo di San Francesco in Greve in Chianti, Italy.

Julie Williams-Krishnan
Julie Williams-Krishnan
Director of Programs

Julie Williams-Krishnan is a fine art photographer based in Boston, MA. She has taught photography at university level and has worked as a freelance photographer and photographer's assistant. She has served on the committee for the Renaissance Photography Prize, an international photography competition that raises money to support younger women with breast cancer. She has exhibited her photographs at the Griffin Museum of Photography and the Khaki Gallery in Boston and The Center for Fine Art Photography, in Fort Collins, Colorado, as well as other venues in Boston, London, and Oxford. She holds a MA in Photographic Studies from the University of Westminster in London, UK.


Greg Madigan, Bookkeeper

Meghan Cronin, Intern

Sabrina Eschman, Intern

Jess Hauserman, Instagram Coordinator

Susan Currie, Marketing

Arthur Griffin, Founding Trustee (1903-2001)


  • Brian Kaplan, President

  • Peter Griffin, Vice President

  • Elisabeth Neville Ambler, Clerk

  • Micheal Long, Treasurer


  • Michael Burka
  • Christine Collins
  • Drew Epstein
  • Loe Gentile
  • Lou Jones
  • Eric Luden
  • Greer Muldowney
  • Amy Rindskopf
  • Dianne Schaefer
  • Ellen Slotnick
  • Joe Staska
  • Richard Yagjian


  • Sven Andersen
  • Steve Duede
  • Susan Currie
  • Matthew Gamber
  • Paul Giguere
  • Carolyn Harder
  • Neal Harte
  • Barbara Hitchcock
  • Stella Johnson
  • Therese Landry
  • Chris Lee
  • Alice Lombardo
  • Rania Matar
  • Margaret McIndoe
  • Angela Mittiga
  • Neal Rantoul
  • Allan Rodgers
  • Dick Simon
  • J. Sybylla Smith
  • Fenton Stirling
  • Melissa Thatcher
  • Tamara Wickramasinghe

Honorary Directors

  • Clarence Kemper
  • Lee Griffin
  • Dick Ockerbloom
  • Richard O'Reilly
  • Betsey Spiller

Please contribute to the Griffin Museum's on-line fundraising campaign.

donate to the Griffin Museum