MEDIA CONTACTS:

Paula Tognarelli Executive Director 781-729-1158

GRIFFIN MUSEUM OF PHOTOGRAPHY ANNOUNCES 2018 FOCUS AWARD RECIPIENTS

Mingle with local and national leaders in the art, craft and business of photography at the Griffin Museum of Photography in Winchester!

WINCHESTER, MA – September 24, 2018– The Griffin Museum of Photography (<u>http://www.griffinmuseum.org/</u>) announced the recipients of its thirteenth annual Focus Awards.

"This year's Focus awardees are a combination of local and international photography trendsetters and innovators. The Focus Awards recognize the hard work, dedication and enthusiasm of a select group of enthusiastic, creative individuals and organizations dedicated to the art and business of photography," says Paula Tognarelli, executive director of the Griffin Museum. <u>http://griffinmuseum.org/focus-awards/</u>

This year's Focus Award recipients are:

- Lifetime Achievement Alexis Gerard
- Lifetime Achievement Steven Sasson

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual whose ongoing commitment to photography has created far-reaching impact. Normally we distribute three to 4 other awards. This year we distribute only two awards and they are both Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Awards Presentation

This year's event is being held in Winchester, MA, home of the Griffin Museum of Photography. The event will take place on October 28, 2018 at the Griffin Museum of Photography at 67 Shore Road.

Alexis Gerard -- Lifetime Achievement Award

After holding executive positions in new technologies marketing with Apple Computer throughout the 1980s, Gerard founded imaging think-tank Future Image Inc. in 1991.

Future Image's continuous information services (The Future Image Report), research studies, and consulting services made it the leading independent source of expertise on the convergence of imaging, information and telecommunications technology for executives, entrepreneurs and investors worldwide, with particular emphasis on digital cameras, Internet imaging, and mobile imaging.

From 1997 to 1998, Gerard also held the positions of President and Executive Director of the Digital Imaging Group (DIG), an open non-profit industry consortium founded by Adobe, Canon, Eastman Kodak, Fuji, Hewlett-Packard, IBM, Intel, Live Picture and Microsoft to promote the growth of digital imaging into mainstream markets. The DIG later merged into the I3A (International Imaging Industry Association).

Griffin Museum Focus Awards

In 1995 Gerard chaired the inaugural conference of the Digital Imaging Marketing Association. In 2002 he chaired the Future Image/Forbes Visual Communication Executive Summit, and was a speaker on the opening panel of Photokina alongside the CEOs of Kodak, Fuji, Epson, Agfa, and IBM's Digital Media Division. In 2003 he launched the Mobile Imaging Executive Summit, a by-invitation executive conference held twice yearly (Americas, Europe) which evolved into the 6Sight® Future of Imaging executive conference, produced in partnership with PMA (Photo Marketing Association International) and AIE (Association of Imaging Industry Executives). He is now the co-organizer and co-host of the annual Visual 1st (formerly Mobile Photo Connect) conference.

Gerard is the co-author of "Going Visual – Using Images to Enhance Productivity, Decision Making and Profits", published in 2005 by John Wiley and Sons. Its argument for visual communication was also presented in multi-page sections he produced for The Red Herring magazine in 2001, and Forbes Magazine in 2002. He's been quoted at various times in the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, International Herald Tribune, USA Today, Financial Times, Newsweek, Business Week, and other leading business and technology publications. He has privately spoken at executive gatherings including the Society for Information Science and Technology, Agfa, Apple, Conexant, Eastman Kodak, Hewlett-Packard, Intel, Minolta, Polaroid, Procter and Gamble and many others. He has also been of service as an expert witness in cases representing prominent companies in the imaging industry, and as a member of the International Advisory Council of the George Eastman House.

Award presenter to Alexis Gerard is Ann Jastrab.

Ann Jastrab is an independent curator, photography consultant, editor, and writer. She writes extensively about photographers and photography for the acclaimed website All About Photo where she is the Editor-in-Chief. She worked as the gallery director at RayKo Photo Center in San Francisco for the past decade until their recent closure in 2017. She is currently working at the Scott Nichols Gallery in San Francisco.

Steven Sasson -- Lifetime Achievement Award

Steven Sasson is an American electrical engineer and the inventor of the first self-contained (portable) digital camera. Samson is a 1972 (BS and 1973 (MS) graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in electrical engineering. He attended and graduated from Brooklyn Technical High School. He worked for Eastman Kodak since shortly after his graduation from engineering school. He is currently on the board of the George Eastman House in Rochester, NY

Award presenter to Steven Sasson is Todd Gustavson.

Todd Gustavson is Curator of Technology at George Eastman House in Rochester, New York, where he is responsible for the cataloging, storage, and maintenance of more than 16,000 artifacts, one of the world's largest collections of photographic and cinematic equipment. He is the author of the book *Camera: A History of Photography from Daguerreotype to Digital*, has curated or co-curated ten exhibitions for the museum, including the critically acclaimed traveling exhibition *The Brownie at 100.* Formerly a staff photography from Louisiana Tech University in 1980.

Griffin Museum Focus Awards

For more information and tickets, please see our website, call 781-729-1158 or email photos@griffinmuseum.org There are a limited amount of tickets for the symposium lectures, award distribution and wine reception with modest fare on October 28, 2018. Tickets are \$20 per lecture or \$50 for all three lectures. All lecture and Ms. Jastrab's portfolio review ticketed guests are welcome to the awards distribution and reception. Tickets to the awards' distribution and reception are available for \$10. There are limited number of FREE tickets for the lectures only (10) for full-time students of the Griffin's Academic Membership institutions. Admission with valid school ID

The Griffin Museum created the annual awards in 2006 to recognize individuals who have made critical contributions to the promotion of photography. They are one of the few to recognize the work of those who have been instrumental in building greater awareness of the photographic arts in the general public.

The Griffin Museum of Photography is a nonprofit organization dedicated solely to the art of photography. Through our many exhibitions, programs and lectures, we strive to encourage a broader understanding and appreciation of the visual, emotional and social impact of photographic art.

Visit www.griffinmuseum.org and http://griffinmuseum.org/focus-awards/